A de-lurking post: food poisoning sucks, come distract me!!

I don’t have much to blog about at this moment, unless you want to hear about my overwhelming urge to puke. Hopefully this all clears up before tomorrow morning, when we start our trek home to see family and friends for Christmas. On the bright side, I’ve fallen in love with a show that is absolutely fucking hilarious – Portlandia – in between visits to the bathroom.

In the meantime, I’m totally stealing a page from ProfLike’s blog with a de-lurking day on the blog. Instead of writing for you guys, I’m asking those of you who read but don’t comment to tell me about yourself – your career, family, hopes and dreams, why you keep reading, and what you’d like to read more about. Entertain me for a moment, while I attempt to drag myself off the floor.

9 thoughts on “A de-lurking post: food poisoning sucks, come distract me!!

  1. Urgh. Vomiting sucks. Much sympathy. What also sucks is having a toddler stand next to the toilet and laugh hysterically while her mother hurks her guts up. True story from my life.

    I read because I like to read about people’s lives – especially those who are working mothers with toddlers (i.e. in the trenches with me!). I generally agree at least partially with your perspectives on many issues. And I appreciate being pointed to other interesting stuff to read, especially via your twitter feed.

    I rarely comment because I mostly read your blog on my iPhone via twitter and that makes typing a comment a pain in the ass. My sympathy for your nasty vomiting actually motivated me to turn on my laptop this morning and comment!

    And seeing as I’ve done that, I might actually go comment on your previous post too now. Hey look! I’m on a roll! (Well, at least until the toddler wakes up.)

  2. Postdoc with 7-month old baby. Pumping as I comment. Hoping my K99 gets a good score. Was intending to apply for TT jobs next fall, but currently unproductive and frustrated.

  3. Sorry to hear about the food poisoning, not a fun way to head into the holidays!

    I’m a 4th year grad student, hoping to stay in academia. I like to read several science blogs to get an idea of how other people have made it that far and how they maintain some sanity in the process (in particular as a female). I keep reading because I think the posts are a great balance of insight and humor. If it’s science-related blog reading, then that totally counts as work time right?

  4. 35 years old autistic lurker. I used to be a research assistant in neuroscience but now, building a career in information technology. Moved yesterday at a temporary appartment until april or may 2012 when I’ll move to another city to apply for a job in the province government.

    I’m from Canada; my primary langage is French but I did many years of studies in English. I have two brother (poor mom…) and recently, a very close friend offered me to buy a duplex house with him in a few years (I have been on the housing market for some month and looking to invest money into a land or something).

    That’s pretty much all I can think off.

    A.L.

  5. Food poisoning is the absolute worst!

    I’m a 4th yr post-doc currently awaiting the rejection letters for this round of the TT-faculty search to start rolling in. Or any sort of letters for this round of applications to come in. Trying to distract myself by playing at the bench and coaxing enough preliminary data out of these last experiments to write a K99 in case nothing comes through this round. All of your posts on the TT-hunt and landing the interview/job etc. have helped so much!

  6. Newly-minted Biochemistry Ph.D, trying to recover from the experience and remember that I d.o love science. Looking for my place in the scientific world, and trying to decide if I’ve got what it takes to go TT.

    I read because the PI that I worked under as a graduate student did not want students doing anything except benchwork. I knew my future would demand more of me than simply how to use a pipet, and reading a breadth of science blogs provided (and continues to provide) information, advice, cautions, and reassurance about careers academic science.

    I don’t usually comment because I haven’t yet found/decided on a blogosphere “persona” yet – and as a childless brand-new Ph.D., I’m not sure I have anything novel to contribute.

    *Feel better soon!

  7. I’m a postdoc, just finished my second year of postdockery and contemplating first round of TT job applications this fall. (If I can get through my current publication bottleneck successfully that is.) My field is extremely male dominated, and it’s easy to feel isolated. I read your blog (and others like it) to remind myself that there are other women out there doing the academic science route.

  8. I’m a postdoc and mom just finishing up and deciding between three TT offers at R1s, achieved without any K or other money to bring (it can be done!). I found your blog via the “usual suspects” (Isis, grumpy rumblings, Doc Becca, DM, Comrade PP). I really needed the cyber moral support of reading your and Doc Becca’s blogs during my faculty search. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Thanks for all the returns (and apologies for just now be replying to your kind responses). I love that so many postdocs and senior grad students are reading!!

    @Meiopic – congratulations!! I love hearing TT search success stories, especially when attained without big bucks in your back pocket!!! Thanks for commenting and sharing 🙂

What say you...

