It’s been a long time, old friend

I love mojitos, and I really love making my own at home on hot summer evenings. There’s nothing like a drink that requires a minimal bit of cooking to make you feel really accomplished, all the while acquiring a nice buzz. Unfortunately, pregnancy and nursing necessitated a ban on liquor in the Dr. O household for the past 18 months. Sad times, I know. Tonight, however, I was reunited with my old friend:

image

Tasty alcohol, minty and sugary goodness

To make your own, here’s what you’ll need:

  • Lime
  • Fresh mint
  • Sugar
  • Rum
  • Ice
  • Club soda

First, make a simple syrup by boiling sugar and water in a saucepan. I usually go by eye, but about 5 tablespoons of sugar per cup of water will work fine. Once the sugar is completely dissolved, remove from heat and pour over a couple of sprigs of mint in a mortar. Crush the mint into the syrup.

Combine 2 parts mint-flavored simple syrup with 1 part rum and the juice of 1 lime, then pour over ice in a highball glass, reserving room at the top of the glass. (This should be enough for about 2 glasses.) Top with club soda, and garnish with a sprig of mint and sugar cane (if you have one – I usually don’t).

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “It’s been a long time, old friend

  1. DH has been making a lot of these this summer. But no matter how many he makes, he will never be able to keep up with the mint patch in the back yard. Still, a valiant effort.

  2. I wish we had started an herb garden on our patio this year; mint from the garden is so nice. Of course, it can get out of control pretty quickly!!

  3. Hellz yeah that’s mine! Actually, I was quite surprised the pic came out that nicely, since I took it with my phone in very low lighting last night.

    Oh, and it tasted as good as it looked 🙂

What say you...

