I’m getting Monkey a brick for his birthday

That’s it, Monkey is growing and developing WAY too fast for my liking. It’s time for desperate measures – I think a brick will do the trick.

Just a week ago Monkey would get stuck on his tummy if he crawled his hands forward too far… then cry for Mommy or Daddy to come help him back up. On Tuesday though, Monkey’s daycare teacher found him sitting up in his crib after both naps, and he was standing in his crib after his afternoon nap on Wednesday. Did you see that? STANDING. What the fuck. That’s two milestones in two friggin’ days. Before I know it, he’s going to be strutting around the condo, asking for ice cream money, borrowing the car, and heading off to college. I’ve seriously got to nip this in the bud right now.

So it’s a brick for Monkey’s 8-month birthday… with a strap to attach it atop his head.

And I swear that boy has gained 3 pounds the past two weeks. Either that or motherhood has really begun to take it’s toll on my arm strength. Just two weeks ago Monkey was drinking two bottles at daycare, on a very regular schedule, so I made the decision to drop down to one pump session a day. Now he’s eating and drinking like a maniac, and I’ve had to ramp my pumping back up. After sleeping through the night for weeks, he’s nursing twice some nights, and this morning he nursed three times before I got out the door with him… three fucking times!!!

A brick ought to put an end to this foolishness. Let gravity work with instead of against me for once.

Actually, it’s all very fun to watch, and there are plenty of pros to his increased self-sufficiency. The ability to get ready in the morning without being beckoned to grab him a toy or pick him back up every other minute is wonderful. But like I’ve said before, it’s also a little bit sad. I look at Monkey now and he’s just not a baby anymore. He’s a little boy, becoming more and more independent every day.

Gotta get me a brick.

______________________________________________
Like what you’re reading? Click the banner to vote for my blog!Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory
4 thoughts on “I’m getting Monkey a brick for his birthday

  1. Aw, I hear ya! It’s amazing how quickly they learn things – it’s like a switch just flips and they all of a sudden get it.

  2. yes bittersweet, the freedom and joy that comes with watching them grow up. mourning the past while anticipating the future.

  3. My kid seems to do everything in spurts too. DH calls it a punctuated equilibrium. My mom says it’s like her brothers and sisters developed but not how my sister and I did (we were more gradual).

What say you...

