Here’s to you, sciwomen

This month’s Scientiae Carnival, hosted by BiochemBelle, is all about inspiring women in STEM. As a scientist and new mom (aka scimom), my thoughts naturally gravitated to the scimoms I know in real life and in the blogosphere. My grad mentor is a scimom, and I never thought I’d be able to combine the jobs the way she did. Yet here I am – grinding out the science, and raising a fantastic little boy, all at the same time. I don’t know how long I’ll have the privilege of pursuing this lifestyle, but I know I wouldn’t have made it this far if it weren’t for her showing me what is possible.

If you haven’t noticed yet, I have a separate blogroll for scimoms under the header of my blog. I also follow quite a few scimoms on Twitter. Some of these women are new moms, some seasoned parents. Most work in academia, although some have moved on to other areas of science. My scimom companions range in age, education level, and parenting experience. They span the continent, and the globe. ALL of these women inspire me. Collectively, they remind me of where I’ve been, how far I’ve come, and where I want to go.

I’ve talked some about feminism on this blog – what it means to me, and how I apply that definition to my life. I think I may have finally gotten to a place that I’m comfortable with – for now at least. Although I focus most of my thinking these days on scimoms, truly all women in science are inspirational to me. We spend our days matching our male counterparts punch for punch, and many times succeeding beyond their goals. We ponder our next step in life, daydream about the possibilities, and push onward to break glass ceilings. We’ve never let anybody tell us we couldn’t do this. We refuse to back down.

So here’s to you sciwomen, all of you. You are my inspiration. You have made me who I am today. You are what keeps me going.

______________________________________________
Like what you’re reading? Click the banner to vote for my blog!Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory
4 thoughts on “Here’s to you, sciwomen

  1. Its nice to see women building-up and respecting other women. Not trying to knock each other down.

  2. Many thanks from one of the scimoms on your blogroll. This is a thoughtful post and it is great to see women supporting and respecting each other.

  3. Thank you for posting this. It’s good to hear about women respecting and supporting teach other. Most of my colleagues have been men. Admittedly the odd one has some opinions connected to those originating from the dark ages but what blows my mind every time is the lack of support and the bitchiness from some of my female colleagues. They are so competitive it’s unbelievable.What gives? Why? Surely it’s far more productive to be supportive?

  4. Pingback: Scientiae Carnival: Inspiring Women in STEM |

What say you...

