Tunes to keep you young

Sometimes we need a reminder – to slow down, to smile, to remember the little things in life that make it worthwhile. One of these moments recently brought a smile to my face. Hubby bought a book last month called “Forever Young”. If you have a little one, you should seriously consider buying it.  It’s basically the lyrics to my favorite Bob Dylan song, illustrated beautifully by Paul Rogers, and has now become my favorite bedtime story for Hubby to read to Monkey while he nurses. I commented a few weeks ago that Hubby should learn the tabs so that he could play/sing it for Monkey. He said he thought they sounded pretty simple, and evidently started working on it in the afternoons before I got home from work.

This past Friday, I was having a terrible, terrible morning. I dropped my makeup on the floor, the black eyeshadow shattered, and I ended up tracking it all over the condo – on our new carpet and tile. It was taking forever to clean up, and a string of obscenities was exiting my mouth as I scrubbed the bathroom floor. Hubby (who thankfully had the day off) took Monkey to get him ready while I cursed the morning away, stressed that I wouldn’t get Monkey to daycare, or myself to work, on time. A little while into my cleaning, I heard the guitar and Hubby’s voice from our bedroom. When I walked in, I saw Monkey intently watching Hubby sing “Forever Young”, with a huge smile on his face. And for a brief moment, everything else went away.

~ Forever Young ~
lyrics by Bob Dylan
May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May you grow up to be righteous
May you grow up to be true
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you
May you always be courageous
Stand upright and be strong
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
And may your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.
What say you...

