A random collection of thoughts from the past week

Several events of the past week initiated potential blog posts, only to turn into duds once I started writing. So they’ve collected here, in the reject post. Sort of a collection of unpublishable data. Enjoy.

-Somebody is doing some major work in the office next to where I pump – banging on the wall and so forth. It just knocked over the picture of Monkey I have in here on the desk. I’m glad that I’ve developed the ability to pump under fire.

-We’re out of large gallon-size baggies at home. I use these to collect my used pump parts each day, since there’s no sink to wash them in or near the pumping room. I’m now using smaller quart-sized baggies, which the parts don’t fit nearly as well in. This bugs me more than it probably should.

-I’m almost back into my pre-pregnancy clothes. Except that I can’t button most of my old pants since I’m carrying too much weight around the middle still. But my *bigger* jeans that I bought when I went back to work are too baggy in other places. Which means I’m walking around with my pre-preggo pants unbuttoned most days. Like when I first got preggos. If only I had more time in the day for sit-ups.

-Several grad students are currently pissing me off. Including one that just informed me that my graduate work must of been “sub-par” since I didn’t ever work in the lab after midnight. WTF.

-Why would anybody choose to enter a field that they felt would leave them no time for a life outside of work, especially if that time is something they claim to value?

-I’m getting super-annoyed with bad drivers. Those who turn their blinkers on while they’re turning instead of before turning. Those who leave their blinker on forever. Those who stop at an intersection to let somebody turn left, when they clearly have a green light and the right-of-way. Those who can’t drive in one lane, usually because they’re gabbing on a cell phone.

That’s it. Have a good weekend.

3 thoughts on “A random collection of thoughts from the past week

  1. 'Why would anybody choose to enter a field that they felt would leave them no time for a life outside of work, especially if that time is something they claim to value?'

    I ask myself this question ALL THE TIME, and my answer that I've come up with is that I didn't know this was the case when I started. At least I'm doing something to remedy the situation…looking for a new job.

  2. @WP – Glad you're taking control. Life's too short to be miserable when you can do something about it!

    @Tiddles – Haha! I've chosen a more passive aggressive route. Childish, maybe. But it keeps me out of trouble 😉

What say you...

