Hormones on the move

I’m no endocrinologist, but I know when my hormonal balance is shifting. And changes are in full throttle right now. This past week, I’ve started remembering things better, my energy is bouncing back, I’m no longer overheating, and my complexion is clearing up (thank God on this last one – I’ve looked like a speckled thirteen-year-old since I gave birth to Monkey). On the negative side, I’ve started shedding. This annoys me, but greatly disgusts my husband. He’s finding long hairs all over the condo, and it’s only a matter of time before they end up in our meals (**grossss**). Hubby has a huge aversion to lose hair, stemming from a rather traumatic experience as a child. Understandably, I’m wondering how much this will affect our marital bliss.

Figure 1. Depiction of Hubby choking on my hair ball. Picture hijacked from Saitz Blog

I’m not sure how to handle this, other than get my hair chopped off. Which I plan on doing at my next hair appointment. But how short should I go? Hubby likes my hair longer, but his aversion to my shedding might lean him more towards the short hair look. Plus, a shorter do could make me look a bit more *mature*, not exactly the worst thing when you’re looking for tenure-track jobs. I do look kind of on the younger side to begin with, although motherhood may be wearing on me faster than I realize. Or maybe the age thing doesn’t apply in the sciences…

Any thoughts?

7 thoughts on “Hormones on the move

  1. LOL — I remember the shedding!
    If you plan on cutting your hair, a bob (mid-neck length) is low-maintenance and looks serious, while still being very feminine.

  2. I'd have to see what you look like, bit getting bangs or layers is a good way to get a more polished look without losing a ton of length and is easy to maintain.

  3. I've done bangs before, but I definitely prefer them with a pretty short cut so that they grow out with the rest of my hair. I've thought about a bob, but was wondering about going really short with it, like this. I normally have blonde highlights (not that blonde though), and I think the style would work with my oval face.

    I only wonder if it will be feminine enough for Hubby, which is usually his concern over short haircuts – he doesn't want me looking like a boy. πŸ˜‰ Of course, one hair in his dinner might give me free reign!

  4. wow that photo of the short cut is cool. but short πŸ˜‰ I'm a chicken when it comes to cutting it too short but I like short in the neck and longer towards the face… but that doesn't work with bangs.

    As for the shedding… I changed shampoo into “baby shampoo” since that doesn't have silicone in it, which apart from making your hair that shiny nice soft, also have a tendency to clog the hair follicles as well as drying the hair out – making it easier to break… it took a bit to get used to but now I shed much less. (I understand though, this might be due to less stress in my life too but it never hurts to share experiences right? πŸ˜‰ )

  5. That's definitely a cute look! You could always go for it, and if hubby (or you) isn't too keen, you can just grow it out a bit. Good luck! I have a hair appointment this weekend and I think I'm going to get bangs.

  6. I chopped my hair off once before – not the same style, but actually a little shorter. My hair grows very, very fast, so it's never a huge fear for me. I have an appointment in 2 weeks and might just let my stylist do what she wants. She's being doing my hair for 5 years, so I trust her quite a bit. I'll take the picture with me for a suggestion, though. πŸ™‚

    @Alyssa – I think the bangs would be super cute!

What say you...

