Bloggiversary!

Today is my two-year bloggiversary. I missed last year’s because I was busy getting pregnant and keeping food down and stuff. But this year I plan to make the most of it…or at least acknowledge it’s passing. How you ask? By looking at where my life has ended up since I began interacting with this bloggy world.

I started this blog not knowing what it would become. But after a somewhat tumultuous year getting married, trying to get pregnant, and searching for a tenure-track position, I decided to focus on the balance between work and life. At the time, I had several pre-conceived notions about what being a mom/wife was like, about how my job search would go, and about balancing the two.

BOY WAS I FULL OF @#IT!!!

If there’s anything I’ve learned in the past two years, it’s that you can’t control where you’re life is headed. If you pay attention, though, you can steer yourself through the ups and downs. I equate it to getting onto one of those conveyer belt rail thingies in the car wash. You can enter with your parking brake engaged, engine on, antenna sticking up in the air, and destroy your car’s engine and radio reception all at the same time. Or you can turn the car and radio off, put it in neutral, let your car get clean, then take over when it’s time to drive. (I could really take this car analogy quite far, but I’ll spare my dear readers the full insanity of my psyche.)

Where was I? Oh yeah – control. We all have ideas of what our lives will look like. And sometimes things turn out pretty much the way we imagined. Other times, different and better things come along. Being open to these altered plans allows us to learn from and enjoy life more.

So that’s where I am now. Trying to pursue what’s available and make the most of it. And waiting to see what the next year will bring…

Scientiae March, 2011

4 thoughts on “Bloggiversary!

  1. Yay! You sound like you're in a good place. 🙂 I too am realizing you can't control life (particularly if you're married to someone in the military). But life isn't about controlling where you go, but about trying to enjoy what it throws at you. Happy Bloggiversary!

  2. One of my favorite quotes, from someone named H.T. Leslie: “The game of life is not so much in holding a good hand as playing a poor hand well.”

    Happy blogoversary!

What say you...

