More than one way to skin a (tenure-track) cat

I’m currently doing something for my career and family that I swore I would never do; funny how pride takes a back seat when your back’s against the wall. It’s all well and good to have a plan and stick to it. To have a standard and uphold it. But at some point, you have to step back and re-evaluate those standards, or you could get left behind.I’ve heard having a baby has that effect on people. Because of Monkey, I’m shedding my preconceived ideas of what my life as a scientist would look like. Best part – I’m now taking control of my career. In service of my pseudonymity, I’m not discussing what exactly this means (although some of the more regular followers of this blog may be able to figure it out). Suffice it to say, I’ll hopefully have a new title and be writing “big girl” grants soon.

It’s not exactly what I imagined, but I still get to teach, mentor, write grants, publish, and do MY science…and maybe even end up in a tenure-track position one day. Only time will tell.

6 thoughts on “More than one way to skin a (tenure-track) cat

  1. Well, congratulations?!? I have 2 comments: If you don't reevaluate your situation once it changes, then you're being stubborn, not 'sticking to your guns'. And, life is what you make it, whether that be the 'traditional TT position' or some other path that makes you feel happy and fulfilled.

    I'm moving on myself, with no idea which direction I'm going, and I wish you the best of luck! Your new career path will only be as awesome as you make it!

  2. for what its worth…I've been there: kid->PPD -> Asst. Research Prof (2 years in), and I couldn't be happier. Well, a funded RO1 would make me happier, but nonetheless my day to day life is rather manageable, and for now, thats good enough for me. Congrats.

  3. I'll blog about it when it happens, so long as an interview doesn't turn up before then. This is still my back-up plan if all else fails, but it's turning into a rather bearable alternative.

  4. I'm glad to hear it! I've been reevaluating my career goals and options since Coco was born. I think it's easier to look past yourself and look at what's best for the family (and your sanity) once the kiddos come on board.

What say you...

