Microbial endocrinology – say whut?

I have absolutely no time for blogging right now. Between pediatrician appointments, visiting grandparents, and trying to figure out my next career move, my “me” time has suddenly vanished. Instead I offer you this Research Blogging post from Small Things Considered highlighting a recent finding in the fascinating field of Microbial Endocrinology. (Sounds pretty fancy, huh?)

I know very little about endocrinology or neurophysiology, but I love microbes, especially gut microbiota. It now seems these little guys can affect the development of our nervous system, and the most recent findings suggest our increasingly sterile world may be contributing to the rise of certain CNS disorders, such as autism, in the developed world.

Go check it out, and I’ll be back with some more “me”-related discussion in a few days!

What say you...

