Day of Rest

I have the house to myself for the first time in three months. For the past few days, my body has been fighting an upper respiratory infection, coinciding perfectly with Monkey’s sleep going to shit. The only cure for these infections is rest, so I’ve been going to bed earlier to make up for his nighttime feedings. In turn, Monkey has been waking up earlier and earlier to nurse. Last night Monkey did something he hasn’t done in over a month, waking twice to nurse – once just before midnight and again at 5 am. Hubby took the midnight feeding, but the damage was already done. I was awake for another hour, fighting off coughs and trying to breath through the congestion, until a second dose of Benedryl and cough syrup finally kicked in. I was in a deep peaceful sleep when Hubby woke me up at 5 am for Monkey’s next feeding.

If it weren’t for the fact that Monkey is still so cheerful and active, I’d be convinced he was coming down with whatever virus is attacking me. Instead, he seems to have inherited Hubby’s immune system (thank God), blissfully unaware of how miserable Mommy is. Hubby took Monkey to daycare this morning so that I could get some more rest. To give my immune system a fighting chance, I decided to take the day off. As I sat down on the couch to check my email and wait for the next dose of Benedryl and cough syrup to knock me out, I realized this is the first day since Monkey was born that I’ve had the house to myself. I have quite literally not had a single day off – not even on weekends – in three months.

So this is what it’s like to be a Mom. You don’t get days off, unless you’re sick and your husband/partner takes the kid to daycare/school. You don’t catch up on sleep during weekends; you catch up on time with your child. I’m joyful, fulfilled, and thankful, but also completely exhausted and desperately in need of a vacation.

Would anyone like to make a few bucks babysitting while I escape to a warm beach somewhere far, far away?

5 thoughts on “Day of Rest

  1. I'm glad you're getting a rest day! They can make all the difference.

    Monkey is probably avoiding the illness because of the antibodies in your milk. Go you!

  2. Enjoy your time alone! Before you know it, Monkey will be bigger and you will find somewhere to leave him while you go for an escape. Really, do this!

  3. You have NO idea how jealous I was when I read the first line of your post 😉 I'm glad you were able to get some time alone and I hope you feel better soon!

  4. I am right there with ya. I get 1 day a week where my mom has the baby all day and I generally have to use that day to catch up on the previous 4 days' worth of work plus the things that need to be done around the house. I'm at the point now where I don't think I could take an afternoon nap even if I wanted to because I'm so over-exhausted.

What say you...

