Hibernation

It’s an absolute wintry mess here today. An arctic storm is threatening sub-zero temperatures, for the high, the next three days. I busted my ass this morning on the sheet of ice that our sidewalk has become. With talk of schools shutting down early, I preemptively picked up Monkey from daycare and am working from home.

Only I’m finding my motivation quite elusive. I have a paper and review to work on, but last week’s failed experiments are complicating this task. My research isn’t going the way I want right now, and I’m not sure how to tackle the obstacles. It’s the nature of this job, but it feels especially disheartening in the midst of what appears to be a stalled job search.

In a way, it’s probably the perfect time to step back and take a fresh look at my project – figure out if there’s a better way around the roadblocks instead of banging my head against the lab bench. On the other hand, I can’t help but feel like I should be chained to the bench right now, beating these experiments into submission.

Combined with my scientific frustration is the peaceful face on my Monkey, asleep in his car seat, as tuckered out from the drive home as is his Mommy. A huge part of me just wants to cuddle up with him in the recliner, tucked away from the frosty mess outdoors.

3 thoughts on “Hibernation

  1. hibernating is one of the happy parts of having a baby in the winter. I say snuggle up. Sometimes a little break can improve your ability to beat your research into submission!

  2. I'm with gertyz. I get my best ideas when I'm doing something completely unrelated to work… like rocking a baby to sleep. (Then the challenge is to remember them until I can get out of her room and write them down!)

What say you...

