But I don’t wanna go to work

originally posted on LabSpaces

Yesterday was my first day back at work, and the first time in almost 6 weeks – correction, 11 months – that I’ve been away from my little Monkey for more than 30 minutes. And it was almost unbearable leaving him yesterday morning. I’ve spent the past year wondering how I would balance a family with my hopeful tenure-track career path, but this was the furthest thing from my mind during my morning commute. I cried the entire drive into work, wondering how in the hell I was even going to make it through the day.

But guess what – I made it through just fine. It was a short day, and I had a hard time concentrating, partly because of sleep deprivation, partly because I was wondering how Hubby would manage daddy duty after 4 weeks at work. I did get some work done, though. I sent off two job applications, planned out an experiment I’m conducting next week, and reconnected with a collaborator. It will be a while before I’m back to my old efficiency, but I’m sure I’ll eventually get there. In the mean time, I’m taking things one day at a time, ignoring the work-family balance concerns that I just don’t have time for right now.

What say you...

