The Little Lab Bench That Could

originally posted on LabSpaces

I’ve been reading a ton of children’s books lately to the Little Monkey and need to get some of this energy out of my system. So, if you’ll allow me some literary freedom here, here’s the children’s book version of my new magical lab bench. Oh, and I’d love it if there’s a brilliant artist out there that can illustrate my fabulous new children’s book. 🙂

Once upon a time, there was a Little Lab Bench that loved science. Little Lab Bench was built for research, and he longed for the day that a young scientist would use him for experiments.

But Little Lab Bench was very sad. Since the day he had been built, he had been ignored. You see, the young grad student who was assigned to Little Lab Bench did not do very many experiments. As the years passed, Little Lab Bench remained neglected.

From time to time the young grad student would roam over to Little Lab Bench and start what appeared to be a fascinating experiment. Sometimes, the young grad student would even get some really interesting data. But the young grad student never understood how good the data was that Little Lab Bench was providing.

Little Lab Bench was just sure brilliant science could happen with his help. “I have so much good mojo to offer,” said Little Lab Bench. “I just want a scientist to share it with.” Was there anybody who cared?

One day, Little Lab Bench found out that the young grad student was moving away. Although a bit nervous, the Little Lab Bench was also curious and excited to find out about the new scientist moving in. And then Little Lab Bench met his new scientist – a young postdoc named Dr. O.

“Are you my new scientist?” asked Little Lab Bench.

“Yes, I am,” replied Dr. O, “and I intend to do lots of science here, if that’s okay with you.”

“Yes, yes it is!!” cried Little Lab Bench. Could it really be? Was there finally a scientist with whom Little Lab Bench could share his mojo?

Over the next couple of weeks, Dr. O did lots of experiments. It was exhausting for Little Lab Bench, but he worked his very hardest.

“I think I can, I think I can.” And Dr. O got some great data.

“I think I can, I think I can.” And Dr. O got some more great data.

“I think I can, I think I can.” And Dr. O suddenly had enough data for half of her upcoming seminar! This was certainly a wonderful lab bench to work at, and Dr. O was very pleased.

“Thank you, thank you, Little Lab Bench!” Dr. O exclaimed. “This is more data than I’ve gotten all summer!”

The Little Lab Bench was very proud and happy. “Your welcome,” Little Lab Bench replied, blushing, “I’m so glad you like your new home!”

Little Lab Bench and Dr. O quickly became very good friends, generating lots of brilliant data and publishing lots of papers.

And they both lived happily ever after.

The End.

What say you...

