What’s vacation?

I’ve gotten seriously bad at vacation.

Hubby and I are taking a trip to my second favorite place on the planet (favorite is Kauai) next week. We both really need the time away from our busy schedules and general life stress, so this trip couldn’t have come at a better time. And the itinerary – wandering the hills outside of town, enjoying sunsets in a warmer climate, and visiting with friends we haven’t seen since our wedding – is almost perfect.

Notice I said almost… In the midst of this relaxation, I’ve somehow managed to schedule time in my old lab – which was fine when this visit only entailed catching up with old labmates. But now I’m getting protocol instruction for my current project and planning to talk job search with my former mentor while we’re there. If only this wasn’t becoming a pattern – I ended up giving a seminar at the local MRU during our last vacation.

When did I forget how to leave work behind? I think I’ve got a problem…

What say you...

