Minor Revisions

So I haven’t had much time for blogging these past few days, mainly because I received a huge data set on Thursday (interrupting a badly needed Organization Day) and have been dragging myself through “piles” of excel spreadsheets. On top of which, I’ve volunteered to talk at lab meeting tomorrow morning, adding on pressure to make something out of all this new data. 😛 Add on a new job application and editing grants, and I just haven’t had the time for much else. But I was dragged up for air this morning when I received an email from the journal I re-submitted my manuscript to about a month ago. As I was heading off for work I quickly checked my inbox, and there it was, finally, a decision.

Except…what did they want? Because of the long-ish wait, I’ve been under the assumption that this re-submission was going to need (more) major revisions. And the beginning of the editor’s note also suggested this: ‘Before acceptance of your manuscript, we will need you to address yada-yada-yada‘. So I quickly scanned the first reviewer’s comments, then the second’s, then more carefully read over both sets of reviews. But, for the life of me, I could not figure out what these guys wanted. Frustrated, I forwarded the email onto my mentor and left for work.

During my rather long commute, I found myself getting more and more anxious about what the reviewers wanted. So, as soon as I got to my desk, I pulled out my laptop and read over the reviews again. This time, however, something caught my eye…was that a compliment? Hmmm…among the short list of comments (spelling change here, figure reference there), I was reading phrases like “substantially improved”, “well and concisely discussed”, and “increases the quality”. Could this be an “accepted with minor changes” decision? I’ve heard these existed, but have never seen one myself and assumed they were in the vein of Sasquatch and the Tooth Fairy. I’ve always had to jump through hoops for reviewers (sometimes multiple, and encircled with flames) so this idea was catching me a bit off guard. I re-read the entire email once more and decided that this was, in fact, an accepted manuscript (*ahem*, with minor changes).

My mentor concurred. 🙂

I still think it would’ve been nice had the editor written this phrase somewhere in his email, but I’m willing to let that go…

3 thoughts on “Minor Revisions

What say you...

