Moving on

So I’m still working to get over my unscored K grant. I’m dealing with it fairly well – no crying or yelling or anything. But I’m admittedly pretty bummed out. I’ve received several hugs, as well as ideas/comments to try and make me feel better – some helpful, some, well, read for yourself…

1. I’m in good company.
2. Nobody gets an NIH grant on the first try. [or a score???]
3. You have plenty of time. [for what?]
4. Wait for the comments before jumping to conclusions. [true, but easier said than done]
5. I should totally go buy new shoes. [this one sounds fun…] πŸ˜‰

I have plenty of other things to worry about, though. So I’m now looking for the next item(s) to fixate on…but which item is “next”? I’ve emailed the manager of our chosen venue for the PDA social – check. I’ve decided to attend the Sunday night small groups for my Lenton commitment – check. My voice is still gone, so I’m not singing in choir tomorrow and therefore don’t need to learn the music – check, by default. My “big experiment” is being run on Monday, so I won’t get the data until Tuesday – check for now. I have no control of when I get my paper resubmission back or hearing about jobs, and we still don’t know if I’m pregnant – so these are up for worrying grabs.

Somehow I don’t think this is the best course of action, though. I do have a new job application that I want to submit next week, so maybe I’ll distract myself with that for a day or two. Once that’s done, I’m sure I’ll be back on the prowl for a new worry fix.

5 thoughts on “Moving on

  1. Hey, I am glad to hear you're feeling better about it too. It took me until A2 to get my K award (of course, there is no A2 now so that isn't so helpful…) They seem to be just as competitive (if not more sometimes) than R01s, and indeed: getting discussed is the first big hurdle. Drugmonkey was right: there are so many reasons BEYOND just you that might make you end up in the 2nd half of the pile. So keep trudging!! You can do it, and the pain dulls over time. I agree with whoever said to go buy some new shoes! Then you can remember you're hawt no matter what those f'ers did.

  2. PhysioProf: Glad you like…I thought it was quite pretty before, but was worried about the legibility. My husband said it looked great (he really knows how to stay in my good graces), but I had my doubts. Thanks for helping me make it better! πŸ™‚

    Arlenna: Thanks for the advice – shoe budget is a little empty right now, but I'm saving up for when I get the comments. πŸ™‚ BTW, I saved your K99/R00 guide ages ago when I started thinking of writing the K22. I just started reading it again when I got my “score” this past week. You've been a big help for quite a while now!

What say you...

