I’ve become a science whore

More specifically, a research whore. Seriously, the past week has been fantastic – and I attribute the fantastic-ness to the fact that I’ve had uber-loads of conversations about research. LOTS and LOTS of interesting research discussions, and very few of them were at all about my own research (which, at the moment, is still on new lab hiatus).

To fill the void, I’ve talked with others about their research. With interviewing technicians, students from other labs, new colleagues, potential collaborators, visiting speakers. And I have loved almost every single minute of it. In the absence of my own thriving research program, I am living vicariously through other people’s awesome (and sometimes not-so-awesome) science.

So I’ve decided: If I can just find a way, somehow, to ensure every day has at least one science-y chit-chat, I can make it through the total fuckwittery* of PI-dom. (HR, I’m looking at you.)

*Thanks to Isis for this word. I’ve read it many a time on her blog, but only now am beginning to really appreciate it; there is no other word that encompasses the more inane parts of this job than “fuckwittery”.

2 thoughts on “I’ve become a science whore

  1. Thank you for doing that! As a student who doesn’t get much feedback from my PI, nothing makes my day like talking to someone who expresses excitement about what I’m doing. So on behalf of students like me, thank you.

  2. I adore your blog and your writing and same goes for Isis… but please, the term “whore” is just not a good thing, even if you don’t mean it in derogation. We all need to leave the misogynistic stuff behind. Vicarious scientist, maybe? Science scavenger? Science glutton? But please, not whore or slut.

What say you...

